Martina Boone: COMPULSION

We’ve got a great group of debut authors here at OneFour Kidlit. Today we’re talking to Martina Boone, author of COMPULSION. One author, four questions. Here we go!

Hey, you’re getting published! How’d that happen?
Fast and sloooooow. I started writing twenty years ago, and then stopped. Long story. I started again about four years ago, wrote a book that I queried hard and another book I started to query and then decided to revise. In the middle of that revision, I got an idea for a new book, which I wrote, queried, and sold as a trilogy within a year. Partly that came from luck and timing, partly it was because I finally wrote a book that was different from what was already published, and partly it was scratching my way up the learning curve to learn enough craft to be ready to take the next step. I think it takes all three of those things.
What’s your debut book about? Can you share any cool details with us?
COMPULSION is a moss-draped Southern Gothic about three plantation and the families that are magically bound to take care of them, about two wishes that became compulsions, and about an ancient curse that forces a teen from each family into danger. There’s a river that turns to fire at midnight, a pair of star-crossed lovers, assorted nefarious doings, ghosts, treasure-hunters looking for a family fortune lost in the Civil War, and teens struggling to find who they are and where they belong in a small town that wants to fit them into pre-conceived roles. Also there are fabulous shoes.
What are you most excited about in the debut process?

I just got back from BEA where I saw the COMPULSION cover as a ginormous standing poster and got to do a presentation about the book sandwiched between presentations given by several of my writing heroes. As I write this, I’m on my way to ALA to talk about COMPULSION with librarians, and since librarians are pretty much my everyday heroes, that’s a dream.To be honest, getting to share my characters and their stories with readers has been the common thread of every amazing experience so far. From the beginning, all I’ve wanted was to do justice to these fictional people who had become so alive for me. Every time someone adds the book to Goodreads, tells me they’ve pre-ordered it, or tells me they’ve read it, I feel like it’s Christmas morning. The debut process turns every day into Christmas, and you never know what’s going to show up beneath the tree.

What are your desert island books?
My most re-read books are PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, because. And DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE by Laini Taylor, because I can find something new and miraculous in every sentence of that book. I’d also take THE SCORPIO RACES by Maggie Stiefvater, because if I was stuck on a desert island, I would much rather imagine that it was Thisby so I could spend my days stalking magical water horses and figuring out how to tame them.
Martina Boone writes contemporary fantasy set in the kinds of magical places she would love to visit. She is the founder of YA Series Insiders and Adventures in YA Publishing, a two-time Writer’s Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers blog. She’d be quite happy on a desert island, as long as she had her family, her dog, her cat, plenty of books, and a way to keep writing. Oh, and vats of Nutella.
Pick ANY OneFour Kidlit Novel of Your Choice GIVEAWAY!

To celebrate being part of this wonderful group (and finally getting her OneFour Kidlit Introduction post written), Martina has a giveaway! One winner (U.S. and Canada only, please) who enters the Rafflecopter below can pick ANY OneFour Kidlit novel, YA or MG, already published or coming up as a preorder that ships when the book is available. The winner will also get a COMPULSION bookmark and an automatic entry into a Grand Prize drawing for an ARC of COMPULSION, a key necklace, a hardcover of Kimberly Derting’s THE TAKING, a signed paperback of Ellen Oh’s PROPHECY and a signed hardcover WARRIOR. Enter below by 7/31/14.(Grand Prize entries will also be accepted from the four Pick Any YA Novel giveaways at Fantasy Ink, Two Chicks on Books, Reading Teen, Writer for Misfits, which will be coming up throughout the month. Check here to find them all.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

