When We Say YA: June Edition

It’s June, and it’s time for another edition of “When We Say YA”! This month, I asked my fellow One Four debuts the following question:

School’s out! How is the summer different for you as a YA writer (or reader)?

Here’s what they said:

no placeThis one is easy. I’m a high school art teacher who writes in the early morning hours before school. Summer means I get to sleep in a few extra hours, stay awake a few hours longer, and write to my heart’s content!–Jaye Robin Brown, author of No Place to Fall

girl called fearlessBecause I read YA year round as a buyer for an indie bookstore, each summer I do my “30 days of Middle Grade” project where I only read MG. During that month, I have a tantalizing stack of YA ARCs waiting to be read. It’s torture!–Catherine Linka, author of A Girl Called Fearless

gildedSince I’m not teaching in the summer, it’s all about having extra time to write. I do have kids at home, but I find that I’m not nearly as exhausted as I am during the school year when I’m working so I’m able to stay up later or get up before my kids do. This is one of the reasons why summers are a magical time. It’s the time I get the most writing done.–Christina Farley, author of Gilded

12 stepsI usually don’t get as much writing done in the summertime. This is when my kids are home, and we spend a lot of time hanging out at the pool and going places as a family, so I don’t have as much time to devote to my story notebooks. But I do have a lot of time to plot and plan and develop my characters in my mind as I hang out at the pool with my teens and their friends, so I guess it all balances out. :)–Veronica Bartles, author of Twelve Steps

push girlAnother teacher here, so my summers are completely dedicated to writing! Of course, I also have a ton of travel and fun things happening all summer long, but I have entire days I can dedicate to writing, so I get so much more done.–Jessica Love, co-author of Push Girl

wordlessMy summers are pretty unusual because I commercial fish in Alaska (in Bristol Bay) for sockeye salmon. So I’m not getting any writing done at all in June and July, when I’m out on the boat or at the dock (which is where I am now, using insanely slow internet). I’m also not getting much reading time in, though I inevitably take ten books out each summer, read one and a half, and get the rest of them wet and wrinkled. As tough as the job is on me (and my poor books), it’s awesome–both because it’s crazy-fun and because the entire rest of my year is free for writing!–AdriAnne Strickland, author of Wordless

dream boyI always have big plans at the beginning of the summer. I’m going to write a ton; I’m going to garden; I’m going to do crafty crap with my kids and go hiking and swimming and take trips to the zoo; one day we’ll make pancakes shaped like states; the next we’re going to watch all the Spiderman movies in a single afternoon! It’s sort of a New Year’s Resolution kind of thing for me, though. I still have to get my freelance jobs done; I still have to do the necessary soap-based tasks to keep us from living in a big wooden health hazard. So I start the summer with all the ideas about things I’m going to get done, but really it’s just like the rest of the year, but with a bit more chaos and the occasional opportunity to sleep late.–Mary Crockett, co-author of Dream Boy

girl from wellThis is my first summer both as a writer with a set publication date, and as a new mother. My son is going to be a month old by the end of June, and I’m already exhausted! No break times for me for awhile, but it’s worth it!–Rin Chupeco, author of The Girl from the Well

behind the scenesAlas, no real difference for me. The sadness of being an adult with a year-round day job…–Dahlia Adler, author of Behind the Scenes

 

 

 

Joshua David Bellin has been writing novels since age eight (though his first few were admittedly very short). His debut YA science fiction novel SURVIVAL COLONY NINE will be published in September 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster. Josh likes (in no particular order) gorillas, frogs, monsters, and human beings.
Leave a Reply

