A Middle Grader Reviews a Middle Grade Novel: THE LOST PLANET by Rachel Searles

As a huge fan of MG science fiction, I was totally excited to read Rachel Searles’s debut THE LOST PLANET, which released in January. I was going to review the book myself until I realized I have a much bigger authority in the household: my 10-year-old son, Jonah. He’s generously agreed to answer my questions (and I didn’t even need to bribe him with extra TV time)!

Hey, Jonah. What’s up?

Wait, that’s one of the questions? For real?

Tell us about the story in THE LOST PLANET.

So Chase doesn’t have any memory. And the whole story, he’s trying to find his memory again. He’s on a planet called Trucon. He meets a kid named Parker, and he has a robot named Mina. Chase has a message, “Guide the star.” But he doesn’t know what that means. He’s told to stay away from the fleet, and there’s a mysterious fleet soldier named Lieutenant Maurus.

What was the coolest part of the book?

The coolest part was when the Goxar were attacking the ship Chase is on. That part was cool because it was a mini-battle, because Mina and Maurus were fighting the Goxar.

Which character did you like the most, and why?

I liked Lieutenant Maurus, because you never knew which side he was on.

As you know, I love monsters. Were there any great monsters in the book?

Yeah, like I mentioned earlier, there were the Goxar, who were aliens with poisonous spikes on their back. There were also these cool creatures with claws on their backs. And there were also these monsters called Ambessitari. They were tricky, and they served their master, who was called Rezer Bennin.

Now for the final and all-important question: on a scale of 1 to 5, how many little green space dudes would you give THE LOST PLANET?

I give it a 4.5:

5 little aliens

Thanks, Jonah! Be sure to tell me about the next cool book you read, okay?

Yup, and I’m out!

Joshua David Bellin has been writing novels since age eight (though his first few were admittedly very short). His debut YA science fiction novel SURVIVAL COLONY NINE will be published in September 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster. Josh likes (in no particular order) gorillas, frogs, monsters, and human beings.
2 thoughts on “A Middle Grader Reviews a Middle Grade Novel: THE LOST PLANET by Rachel Searles

Leave a Reply

