Kate Kelly: RED ROCK

We have a lot of fantastic authors at OneFour KidLit and are excited to introduce them all to you. Today we’re talking to Kate Kelly, author of RED ROCK coming from Curious Fox/Capstone Young Readers in 2013. One author, four questions. Here we go!

Hey, you’re getting published! How’d that happen?

I have been writing ever since I could hold a crayon but a few years ago I started to take things a bit more seriously. I started out, like many SF authors do, with short stories and had some success with placing them in various magazines and anthologies.

But I had always felt I wanted to write for kids. And so Red Rock was born.

I met my agent at a 1-2-1 meet an agent session at a small literary festival not far from where I live. I went along hoping for some useful feedback, but I ended up signing with her and about a year later Red Rock sold.

When she called I was jolting down a rutted track on my mountain bike. I took her call sitting in the sunshine on a grassy bank beside a farm, swallows flitting overhead. It was a magical moment.

What’s your debut book about? Can you share any cool details with us?

Red Rock is a thriller, set in a not too distant future. The climate is changing and the Greenland ice cap has all but melted away. But as the ice retreats something is revealed….

What do you do in your daily life outside of writing?

In my day job I work as a Marine Scientist. I used to spend a lot of time at sea on survey ships (before having kids) and was fortunate enough to visit the Arctic – this was part of my inspiration for Red
Rock. I’m also keen on hillwalking and I’m fascinated by local history and archaeology.

What are you most excited about in the debut process?

The thought of people reading my book and, hopefully, enjoying it. Holding it in my hand and stroking its cover and thinking ‘I wrote this’.

By day Kate Kelly works as a Marine Scientist, by night she writes SF thrillers for kids. Kate has written all her life and has had a number of science fiction short stories published in various magazines and anthologies. Her debut novel, RED ROCK, a SF thriller for the 10+ age group, will be published in 2013 by Curious Fox.
5 thoughts on “Kate Kelly: RED ROCK

  1. “But as the ice retreats something is revealed….” I hope it’s an awesome prehistoric monster (I’m into those!). But whatever it is, sounds like a great concept. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

