GETTIN’ LUCKY: An interview with Emma Pass, author of ACID

Today, we’re interviewing Lucky13 author Emma Pass, whose book ACID hits the shelves on April 25!

Here’s the blurb:

2113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID – the most brutal, controlling police force in history – rule supreme. No throwaway comment or muttered dissent goes unnoticed – or unpunished. And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a bloody crime she struggles to remember.

The only female inmate in a violent high-security prison, Jenna has learned to survive by any means necessary. And when a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID – and to uncover the truth about what really happened on that dark night two years ago.

imagesCAC73AJ6

Wow. Jenna seems like my kind of heroine and I’m dying to get my hands on this book. I’m intrigued in how you developed Jenna as a character. Do you see a little of yourself in Jenna or is she completely from your imagination?

Jenna stormed into my head more or less fully formed, demanding that her story be told. It was impossible to ignore her! I could see her in her prison cell, doing sit-ups, toughening herself up, and I started to wonder what she was doing there and why she had to be so tough.

As for seeing myself in Jenna, I’m such a wimp compared to her it’s not true! I could never be that brave or tough, which is why she was so much fun to write!

As you wrote ACID, which scene had the biggest emotional impact on you after writing it?

Hmm… probably the scene with Jenna and Jacob in the library – but I’m not going to say any more than that, because I don’t want to spoil it for readers! It was a creepy scene to write. Hopefully it will be a creepy scene to read!

On your blog, you mentioned your love for writing developed at an early age. When did you realize you wanted to be a writer and what instigated this?

I always loved writing stories, but until I was 13, I was convinced I was going to be an artist or a musician when I was older. Then I went to see the film ‘Jurassic Park’. Afterwards, I couldn’t stop thinking about it, and started writing a sequel. 125 whole pages later, my first ‘novel’ was written, and I knew this was what I wanted to do with my life.

I love your pictures with your hound. Beautiful! Did he have any part of inspiring scenes in ACID?

We didn’t have a dog when I started writing ACID, but a year or so after starting the book, I decided I needed to do something to stave off the dreaded writer’s butt, so we got our first dog, The Hound, a gorgeous ex-racing greyhound. Sadly, he passed away last year, but we now have another greyhound, G-Dog, who makes us smile every day. Going out walking is a great cure for writer’s block, and there’s nothing like having a 60lb hot water bottle snuggled up to you on the sofa as you write on a cold winter’s day!

What was the toughest part of your publication journey for ACID and how did you overcome that obstacle?

The toughest part was trying to get published. I have a wonderful agent who loved the book and really got behind it, but getting rejections from publishers always knocks your confidence, no matter how hard you try not to let it. I did reach a point where I started to wonder if I was kidding myself, and was never going to get there. I dealt with it by starting another book (which is going to be my next novel, THE FEARLESS, out in the UK in 2014) so I had something to take my mind off waiting to hear from publishers! Even if ACID hadn’t sold, though, I would have kept writing. You never know – your lucky break could be just around the corner, but if you give up, you’ll never know.

As this community is All for One and OneFour KidLit, we’d like to know what two or three books inspired you as a kid.

That’s a hard question! I think everything I’ve ever read has influenced me in one way or another. But if I had to choose…

I loved Enid Blyton as a kid, especially her ‘Adventure’ series. One that stands out (because I wanted to be able to fly, and in the book a group of characters are developing anti-gravity wings which allow people to do just that) is THE MOUNTAIN OF ADVENTURE. OK, it’s not great literature, but EB was a cracking storyteller!

I also loved EMILY OF NEW MOON by L.M. Montgomery, because Emily was so feisty and independent. Perhaps she’s partly the inspiration for Jenna! I always found Anne Shirley (of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES) a bit too good to be true – Emily was much more realistic. Plus, she had violet eyes and wanted to be a writer. What’s not to like?

Finally, I’ll pick Robert Swindells BROTHER IN THE LAND, which is about a boy fighting for survival in the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust. I read it when I was about 9 or 10 years old, and found it utterly chilling. It also left me with a fascination for post-apocalyptic and dystopian scenarios that continues to influence my writing today!

Emma & The Hound 2
You can find Emma online here:
And you can buy ACID here:
After teaching and traveling internationally, Christina Farley started writing about her adventures, tossing in a little fiction for fun. This inspired her to write GILDED, a YA about a Korean-American girl with a black belt and deadly proclivity with steel-tipped arrows to be published by Amazon Children’s spring 2014. Besides writing, Christina loves traveling, running, hanging out with her two Jedi warriors, and eating dark chocolate.
8 thoughts on “GETTIN’ LUCKY: An interview with Emma Pass, author of ACID

  1. Your road to publication is inspirational! Ditto from the above commenters – ACID sounds complex and kick-ass. Congrats on your debut! btw…I have a 22-pound hot water bottle next me when I write (jack russell who thinks he’s 100lbs). Greyhounds are so beautiful. Love the pic!!

  2. Just finished this book today, one of the best I’ve ever read! I need there to be another book about acid, I have so many questions? Please!

Leave a Reply

