Kelsey Macke – DAMSEL DISTRESSED + Imogen Unlocked

We’ve got a great group of debut authors here at OneFour KidLit. Today we’re introducing Kelsey Macke, author of DAMSEL DISTRESSED (Spencer Hill Contemporary). This book is being presented with “Imogen Unlocked“, an album of original songs written for/inspired by the book, performed and recorded by the author’s indie-pop band, Wedding Day Rain. 

One author, four questions. Here we go!

Hey, you’re getting published! How’d that happen?

(First, let me say that I am ZOMGSOEXCITED to be a part of OneFour KidLit!)

The long version of this story can be found here and here. (all my gory details laid out…)

The short version is that I wrote a book that I really, really believed in. During the winter of 2012, I found two people who understood my story completely: my agent and my editor. Those two people came to know of my manuscript at different times and in different (non-traditional) ways, but somehow, we’ve all found our place and are working together to make this story the best that it can be!

What are you most excited about in the debut process?

I have to say that one of the coolest things about the debut process, for me, is that I get to debut TWO parts of the story at once!

My book, DAMSEL DISTRESSED, is being presented with a companion album of original music!

I’ve been a singer/songwriter for as long as I can remember, and I am half of a folky-pop duo, Wedding Day Rain! Together, we’ve written songs that continue and enrich the story that is told in my book. The book is whole on its own, as is the album. But together, they tell two complementary and compelling versions of Imogen’s story.

What cool facts might readers not know about you?

Well, I’m pretty much an open book, so it’s hard to find things that I haven’t blabbed to some corner of the internet, but… (HA!)

As I already mentioned, I’m a singer and have been writing songs for ages. I am also an actor and work in local musical productions as often as I can! (Favorite roles include “Maureen” in RENT, “Lucy” in AVENUE Q, and “Christine” in DIRTY ROTTEN SCOUNDRELS.)

I’m also a middle school teacher, I LOVE potatoes more than any reasonable person should, I’m addicted to horrible science fiction movies, I know almost every word of the film Pretty in Pink (and Pitch Perfect (YAY “P” movies!)), and I can bend my thumb around backwards, almost 180 degrees. (Seriously. It’s gross AND awesome!)

I’m also a card carrying NERDFIGHTER, and have my own vlog for writers (and other creative type folks) with new episodes every Friday! 🙂 Here’s the episode where I announced my book + album, and here’s my second favorite episode: 10 reasons writers are crazy.

Do you have any writing quirks–places you need to write or things you need to have with you?

I suppose I have a few writing quirks. When I’m drafting I almost NEVER stop in the middle of a chapter. Even if I’ve finished a scene within a chapter, I’m unlikely to stop until I think the whole chapter is at a stopping place.

I also really can’t listen to music much when I draft. I get so caught up in the lyrics, or even the structure of the music (in the case of classical), so I often have the volume so low that it’s almost totally inaudible, or, I listen to “sea scapes” style sounds on pandora… things like ocean waves and jungle sounds. 😀

It’s also rare that you’ll find me without 14 different colored ink pens beside me–even if I’m not writing anything down. I like my writing implements.

Kelsey Macke has been creative for as long as she can remember. Her formative years were a swirl of bad poetry, journals full of songs, and absolutely TONS of jazz hands. Her debut, DAMSEL DISTRESSED (Spencer Hill Contemporary) is being presented with Imogen Unlocked, a full album of original songs inspired by the book and performed by her band Wedding Day Rain.
14 thoughts on “Kelsey Macke – DAMSEL DISTRESSED + Imogen Unlocked

  1. Oh heavens. If your love of potatoes wasn’t enough, you go and add your dedication to Pretty in Pink. Kelsey, will you marry me?!

    And fist-bumps to you on the companion album. Pretty sure you just knocked my socks off!

  2. The pen aisle at Staples is my idea of a totally hot date. So excited you’re a One Four now Kelsey!

Leave a Reply

