Whitney Miller: THE VIOLET HOUR

We have a lot of fantastic authors at OneFour KidLit and are excited to introduce them all to you. One author, four questions. Today we’re talking to Whitney Miller, YA author of THE VIOLET HOUR.

Hey, you’re getting published! What was your path to publication?

A little over four years ago, I started a job that requires me to commute by bus for two hours every day. Ugh, right? Well…maybe not! I decided I would use that time to pursue something creative. I’d always wanted to write, and I’d just gotten sucked into TWILIGHT (yes, I’m one of those). I started spending my time on the bus writing. A year later I got my agent (Jennifer Laughran at Andrea Brown Literary) and the rest was history. Well, the rest was a lot of late nights, drafting, re-drafting, throwing things at the wall, and re-drafting again. But you get the basic idea.

What’s your debut book about? Can you share any cool details with us?

The “pitch”: Harlow Wintergreen is keeping a dark secret. The daughter of a charismatic cult leader, she hears a sinister voice that whispers to her, showing her visions of a dizzying, blood-soaked alternate reality. When those visions begin to literally bleed into reality, Harlow must choose to either  expose the evil within or endanger her family, her friends, and the boy she loves.

The “cool” factor: THE VIOLET HOUR takes place all around Asia – Japan, China, Cambodia, and Vietnam. I adore international adventures in real life, and I love to take readers on them in book life!  TVH also has a hot, broody love interest with mysterious tattoos all over his body. So there’s that, too.

What are you most excited about in the debut process?

This is going to sound weird, but writing the acknowledgements. They’re my favorite part of every book, and I always read them first. I am determined that, if nothing else, my debut will set the gold standard for acknowledgement writing. 😉

What are your desert island books?

Obvi I have to choose TWILIGHT as one, because it’s what set me on this life-changing journey and it’s the only book I’ve ever read more than twice. It’s also the only movie I’ve seen shmershmer times, but we won’t get into that. On to that I’ll add A WRINKLE IN TIME, A HUNDRED YEARS OF SOLITUDE, and THE BOOK THIEF. On to that I’ll add an e-reader with unlimited adds because you didn’t specify any rules and I can’t be stuck on a desert island with only four books.

It’s been so fun talking to you. Thanks for having me!

Whitney Miller lives in San Francisco with her husband and a struggling houseplant. She’s summited Mt. Kilimanjaro, ridden the Trans-Siberian rails, bicycled through Vietnam, done the splits on the Great Wall of China, and evaded the boat police in Venice, but her best international adventures take place on the page! Her YA Horror THE VIOLET HOUR drops in March 2014 from Flux.
4 thoughts on “Whitney Miller: THE VIOLET HOUR

Leave a Reply

