S. L. Duncan: THE REVELATION OF GABRIEL ADAM

Hey, you’re getting published! How’d that happen?

At the risk of sounding like an 90’s British pop band, when it came to getting published, I was the King of Wishful Thinking. (Now see if you can pry that little ditty out of your head. You’re welcome.)

I had this thunderstruck moment during my final days of law school, and this idea sorta fell into my head (when really I should have been studying). At the risk of my GPA, I wrote about fifty pages, gave them to a friend of mine from Scotland, and was promptly informed, in that particular Scottish way, of how they were left wanting. I’ll spare you the actual flavor of his comments. The manuscript was set aside for a while and then I moved to England for a study abroad. There, I got re-inspired, came home, rewrote and finished the book. I spent a couple of months in the agent query pool and landed an agent with Endeavor. They merged with William Morris and, basically, I found myself without representation shortly thereafter.

Once again, I figured becoming an author was wishful thinking and that I’d fluked getting as close as I had. Nearly a year later, on a whim, I queried again, and scored with John Rudolph at Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. He then sold THE REVELATION OF GABRIEL ADAM to Medallion Press.

Easy peasy.

What’s your debut book about? Can you share any cool details with us?

THE REVELATION OF GABRIEL ADAM is YA thriller / adventure about a seventeen-year-old skeptic who, unbeknownst to him, is the Archangel Gabriel born human in order to stop the second war between Heaven and Hell.

It was pitched as RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK meets HARRY POTTER.

What cool facts might readers not know about you?

I’m a lawyer. Wait…you said cool. Sorry.

I come from Alabama. No banjo on the knee. But I do play guitar!

I love to travel. (Who doesn’t, right?) Cool places I’ve been to include the Peruvian Amazon and the Galapagos Islands.

I play soccer. Though, the older I get, the more it becomes an exercise in diminishing results.

What are you most excited about in the debut process?

I think that first moment you speak with a person legitimately connected to the Publishing Industry, usually your agent, and in their voice you hear genuine excitement for your work – that’s special. That’s something you won’t forget. I rank it higher than the You’re Going To Be Published Call because in the first call, there’s this sense of bewildered wonder at the possibility of what may come your way.  I promise you, that’s a feeling that is difficult to forget.

THE REVELATION OF GABRIEL ADAM (Medallion Press) is a YA adventure about an archangel born human to stop the second war between Heaven and Hell. S. L. Duncan can be found on Twitter @SLDuncanBooks and at INKROCK.com. He is represented by John Rudolph of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management.
5 thoughts on “S. L. Duncan: THE REVELATION OF GABRIEL ADAM

  1. Seriously excited for your book!! Sounds amazing 🙂 Also totally agree on the whole “bewildered wonder” thing at the first time someone in Publishing gets excited about your book – such an amazing feeling!

Leave a Reply

