R.C. Lewis: STITCHING SNOW

One author, Four questions. Today we’re talking to R.C. Lewis, author of STITCHING SNOW. Here we go!

Hey, you’re getting published! How’d that happen?

Very quickly. Abnormally so. Not the first part, though. I’d been querying a couple of different manuscripts over two and a half years without quite getting all the way to representation. When I was getting ready to try with Stitching Snow, I got involved with The Writers’ Voice contest and sent out one batch of queries. Two weeks later, I signed with Jennifer Laughran of Andrea Brown Literary Agency. That was at the start of summer, and by summer’s end, we’d sold to Disney-Hyperion in a two-book deal.

What do you do in your daily life outside of writing?

I teach math! (Don’t groan or run away screaming, math-phobes! You just didn’t have the right teacher—me!) Right now I work with 8th and 9th graders in some very large classes, but for six years before this, I taught at a school for the deaf. Deaf high-schoolers, everything from basic math through calculus, all in American Sign Language. My current students find it fascinating, especially when I indulge them by showing how to sign things like “Let’s steal her socks.” (I don’t know why they wanted to sign that, but that’s one they asked for.)

What inspires you to write?

In the general sense, I’ve always enjoyed doing things that stretch parts of my brain that don’t get used so much when I’m teaching math all day. I began writing my first novel because I wanted certain students to see characters who were like them in ways I wasn’t seeing often. It went from there. I like exploring what-ifs and how choices impact people’s lives.

Stitching Snow in particular was inspired by a line in a Florence + the Machine song that I’d thought I heard wrong in the car. Turns out I heard it right. Either way, it sparked an image that grew into a story.

What’s your debut book about? Can you share any cool details with us?

I came up with a line for my query, and now my sister makes me repeat it every time someone asks what my book’s about. It’s Snow White in space, if Snow were a cage-fighting tech-head with daddy issues.

Despite being published by Disney, this isn’t the Snow White I grew up with. My MC doesn’t sing with birds. She doesn’t clean much of anything. And “Prince Charming” has problems of his own.


R.C. Lewis teaches math to teenagers—sometimes in sign language, sometimes not—and resists defining herself further since that definition remains in flux. Coincidentally, she enjoys reading about quantum physics. Her debut novel, STITCHING SNOW (Disney-Hyperion, Summer ’14), takes Snow White into space.
15 thoughts on “R.C. Lewis: STITCHING SNOW

  1. Wow. I love retold fairytales and I love space, so this sounds AMAZING.

    But I’m super curious–what was the line from which Florence + the Machine song? (I love love love their music.)

    • Rosamund, it’s from “Blinding”:

      “Snow White stitching up your circuit board…”

      From what I can tell, it’s British slang for messing with your head, but when I first heard it (and thought I’d heard wrong), it spawned a whole different idea.

  2. I have only recently discovered fairy-tale retellings and I do like it so I have added “Stitching Snow” on my Goodreads “Want-2014” list 🙂

    Good math teachers are so very, very important. I almost flunked my math in high school, but as a last resort I swapped math class. Never before(or after) have I learned so much from a math teacher. My new teacher was a 69 year old guy and he knew his stuff, he was brilliant. He understood what I needed, in some kind of magical way I think ;), and by the end of the year I had improved my grades more than I could ever have wished for. That is fourteen years in the past and I still remember that teacher as one of the best tutors I have had. Sorry for the digression I just felt like telling.

    Good luck with all the thing to come in the processes of publishing “Stitching Snow”.
    Warm wishes from cold and snowy Norway.

  3. Pingback: Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis | A Librarian's Comprehensive Reader's Guide

Leave a Reply

