Jenn Marie Thorne: SPIN

We’ve got a great group of debut authors here at OneFour KidLit. Today we’re introducing Jenn Marie Thorne. One author, four questions. Here we go!

Hey, you’re getting published! How’d that happen?

I went to NYU for acting, but it took me six years and a move to LA to realize it was not the profession for me. I wrote a lot during that time – a serialized romance novel called The Lanolin Saga, a full-length play, a short film, a few short stories and a feature screenplay – but I always saw it as fun, whereas acting was “serious work.” I know, right?!

When I moved to Florida with my husband, I made the firm decision to pursue writing as my Big Goal, and promptly wrote and queried a middle grade fantasy that will never see the light of day in its current form, although I am still fond of some of the chase scenes in it! Then I wrote another novel, a futuristic YA Western that caught the attention of my agent, the fabulous Katelyn Detweiler at Jill Grinberg Literary Management. But it was the third book I wrote, SPIN that we wound up submitting to editors, and which will be my debut in 2014 with Dial.

What’s your debut book about? Can you share any cool details with us?

SPIN is about Kate Quinn, a sixteen-year-old still grieving the loss of her mother, the only parent she ever knew, who learns as the book opens (from a mob of reporters) that she’s the illegitimate daughter of Senator Mark Cooper, the Republican nominee for President. As part of an attempt at damage control, she’s invited along on the campaign trail. Kate jumps at the chance to get to know the family she never knew she had, but, of course, her path gets a little complicated from there.

What are you most excited about in the debut process?

There are little milestones I’m excited about, like seeing the cover for the first time, spotting the book on a store shelf or in the wild, forcing myself not to read reviews, that kind of thing. But I think what I’m most excited about is the fact that total strangers, people who would otherwise have no connection to me, will become visitors to a world I’ve made up. I feel like our lives are composed of not just our own real memories, but the memories of stories as well – TV shows, movies, art – and especially books. Now, when somebody reads my book, we’ll have the memory of Kate’s story in common. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to share it!

What cool facts might readers not know about you?

A sampling of jobs I’ve had: Voice of Ban Antiperspirant, Executive Recruiter, Game Show Question Writer, SAT Tutor, Dog Food In-Store Rep, Web Series Superhero, Nanny, and “Promotions Model” – which encompasses all sorts of embarrassing jobs, like being strapped to a giant, windblown balloon in Manhattan the day BEFORE Thanksgiving, crashing Fashion Week parties wearing a fake blonde wig, and walking cashmere goats around the Upper East Side for Saks Fifth Avenue. (That last one was my favorite.)

My husband is from Bristol, England and our current goal is to split our time between the UK and the awesome waterfront town in Florida where we live now.

I have an iron stomach. I could probably read a small print edition of Troilus and Cressida – including footnotes – while on a looping rollercoaster and never get queasy.

We have a Mystery Hound named Molly who we thought was a beagle puppy, until she grew. And grew. And grew. We’re pretty obsessed with her.

And most exciting of all: we are expecting a baby…any day now!

Jenn Marie Thorne reads and writes from a bungalow in quirky Gulfport, Florida, alongside her TV editor husband, Rob and her mischievous hound, Molly. Her YA debut, SPIN (Dial/Penguin, Fall 2014), follows a 16-year-old girl’s journey along the Presidential campaign trail after she learns that the candidate is her father. Jenn can be found on Twitter: @juniperjenny
14 thoughts on “Jenn Marie Thorne: SPIN

  1. “Now, when somebody reads my book, we’ll have the memory of Kate’s story in common. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to share it!” – Love this! And congrats on the baby!

  2. Your prior jobs! *swoon* So awesome. Especially the goats and the balloon. The book sounds amazing, and considering all you’ve seen already, I have a feeling it’s going to be so real when we read it, the memories will stick like, well, bits of grass in uncombed cashmere.

Leave a Reply

